“Jesus, sweet and comely, from the chalice of Thy Heart, grant me the choice wine”

Today marks the start of the month of June, which is dedicated by Mother Church to the Sacred Heart of Jesus. The quotation in the title, “Jesus, sweet and comely, from the chalice of Thy Heart, grant me the choice wine”, is taken from one of the poems of St Hermann Joseph, who, as we saw last week, was the first apostle of devotions to the Sacred Heart.

Fittingly, for a truly Norbertine devotion, our statue of the Sacred Heart in the Priory Chapel has been adorned for the month, to assist our prayers.

photo-26

Hail, Heart of the highest King,

with joyful heart I salute Thee!

To embrace Thee delights me

and this my heart desires,

grant that I may speak to Thee!

Spread open and wide

like a sweet-smelling rose;

join Thyself to my heart,

anoint it, pierce it:

what does he who loves Thee suffer?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.